Irish Naval Service


The Irish Naval Service (INS) is the Ireland's principal seagoing agency with a general responsibility to meet contingent and actual maritime defence requirements. It is tasked with a variety of defence and other roles.

Defence roles include defending territorial seas, deterring intrusive or aggressive acts, conducting maritime surveillance, maintaining an armed naval presence, ensuring right of passage, protecting marine assets and contributing to a blockade if required. The Naval Service must also be capable of supporting Army operations by sea lift and close naval support.

The fleet comprises one Helicopter Patrol Vessel (HPV), three Offshore Patrol Vessels (OPV), two Large Patrol Vessel (LPV) and two Coastal Patrol Vessels (CPV). Each vessel is equipped with state of the art machinery, weapons, communication’s and navigation systems. The Flagship of the Irish Naval Service is the L.É. Eithne which a HPV.

Naval Service Reserve

The Naval Service Reserve (NSR), made up of part time volunteers who augment and support the INS, will also be involved in exercise 'Cathach'.

The NSR has 4 units based in Dublin, Waterford, Cork and Limerick. All professional maritime training is carried out on the Naval Base and at the NMCI in Cork. Meanwhile small boat training is carried out in each unit’s coastal training area. The Limerick unit of the NSR will be providing support to the LE Orla during Exercise ‘Cathach’.


The INS Fleet keeps the tradition of naming its vessels after famous women from Irish and Celtic mythology. Currently the Naval Service operates eight ships.

L.É. Eithne - P31

L.É. Aisling - P23

L.É. Niamh - P52

L.É. Orla - P41

L.É. Aoife - P22

L.É. Emer - P21

L.É. Róisín - P51

L.É. Cíara - P42



navy1 navy3



navy5 navy4 reserves