The Faculdade de Engenharia da Universidade do Porto (FEUP) is the engineering faculty of the University of Porto, in Porto, Portugal and has origins dating back to the 18th Century.

FEUP is divided into seven departments, which reflect the Faculty's major areas of academic study, delimited according to their objectives and scientific research methods.

Each department is run by a department board and by an executive committee, and can be further subdivided into sections, whenever its size or the number of scientific fields it covers render it necessary.

    • Civil Engineering
    • Electrical and Computer Engineering
    • Industrial Engineering and Management
    • Mechanical Engineering
    • Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
    • Informatics Engineering
    • Mining Engineering
    • Chemical Engineering
    • Physics Engineering

The Underwater Systems and Technology Laboratory (USTL) - Laboratório de Sistemas e Tecnologias Subaquáticas - from Porto University pioneered the development and integration of autonomous and operator-assisted vehicles and sensor networks. Developments started in 1997 with the operation of the ISURUS autonomous underwater vehicle (AUV). Since then USTL designed and developed:

    • Remotely Operated Vehicle (ROV) for the inspection of underwater structures.
    • Low cost AUV for coastal oceanography.
    • Low cost sensor modules for remote and/or networked environmental data collection.
    • Acoustic navigation technology for multiple AUVs.
    • Operational concepts for the coordinated operation of multiple AUVs.
    • Control architecture for the coordination and control of multiple vehicles.


logo UP FEUP cor